JOINT PUBLIC NOTICE OF HEARING REGARDING THE PROPOSED CREATION OF THE CACHE WATER DISTRICT IN CACHE COUNTY, UTAH

Amalga Town, Clarkston Town, Hyde Park City, Newton Town, Nibley City, North Logan City, Richmond City, River Heights City, Smithfield City and Trenton Town (the "Municipalities"), hereby give notice of their desire to place before their voters the creation of the Cache Water District (the "District") within all of the incorporated and unincorporated areas of Cache County. To that end, the City Council of each City, and the Town Council of each Town have adopted substantially equivalent Resolutions (the "Resolutions") which are summarized as follows:

The Cache County Council and the Municipalities propose the creation of a local district under the Water Conservancy District Act, Utah Code Ann. § 17B-2a-1001 et seq., which is expected to include all of Cache County, Utah. The water conservancy district will be known as the "Cache Water District," the purpose of which is to operate a system, or one or more components of a system, for the collection, storage, retention, control, conservation, treatment, supplying, distribution, or reclamation of water, including storm, flood, irrigation and culinary water, either on a wholesale or retail level, or both. The anticipated method of paying the cost of providing the proposed service is through the collection of property taxes, service fees and charges, and/or levied assessments. The District initially will be funded through Cache County, until the District establishes its own property tax assessment, at which time Cache County is expected to reduce its property tax rate by an equivalent amount. The estimated average financial impact on a typical household within the proposed District is as follows: The annual tax on a \$201,182 residence would be \$11.07 using a tax rate of 0.0001, \$22.13 using a tax rate of 0.0002, and \$33.20 using a tax rate of 0.0003 (which is the maximum possible tax rate). Service fees and assessments cannot be estimated, and will be charged based upon actual water deliveries or commitments or agreed upon amounts. The District will be governed by an 11 member Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees will consist of ten elected trustees and one appointed trustee. Seven of the elected trustees will be elected from districts, with one trustee to be elected to represent each of the seven Cache County Council districts, as those districts may be established and modified from time-to-time pursuant to applicable law. The three remaining elected trustees will be elected County-wide. The one trustee who is appointed by the Cache County Council will be a person who owns irrigation rights and uses those rights as part of that person's livelihood. Regarding the ten elected trustee positions, the initial trustees will be appointed elected officials by the Cache County Council with staggered terms with subsequent trustees to be elected.

Each City Council and Town Council will hold a public hearing to allow the public to ask questions of and obtain further information from the respective Council regarding the issues contained in or raised by the Resolutions.

The public hearings will be held as follows:

- **1.** The Amalga Town public hearing will be held on July 13, 2016 at the Amalga Town Hall, 6590 North 2400 West, Amalga, Utah 84335 commencing at 7:00 p.m.
- **2.** The Clarkston Town public hearing will be held on July 5, 2016 at the Clarkston Town Hall, 50 South Main Street, Clarkson, Utah 84305 commencing at 7:00 p.m.

- **3.** The Hyde Park City public hearing will be held on July 13, 2016 at the Hyde Park Civic Center, 113 East Center Street, Hyde Park, Utah 84318 commencing at 7:00 p.m.
- **4.** The Newton Town public hearing will be held on July 7, 2016 at the Newton Town Hall, 51 South Center, Newton, Utah 84327 commencing at 7:00 p.m.
- **5.** The Nibley City public hearing will be held on July 7, 2016 at the Nibley City Hall, 455 West 3200 South, Nibley, Utah 84321 commencing at 6:30 p.m.
- **6.** The North Logan City public hearing will be held on July 6, 2016 at the North Logan Library, 475 East 2500 North, North Logan, Utah 84341 commencing at 6:40 p.m.
- **7.** The Richmond City public hearing will be held on July 12, 2016 at the Richmond City Office, 6 West Main Street, Richmond, Utah 84333 commencing at 7:15 p.m.
- **8.** The River Heights City public hearing will be held on July 12, 2016 at the River Heights City Office, 520 South 500 East, River Heights, Utah 84321 commencing at 6:45 p.m.
- **9.** The Smithfield City public hearing will be held on July 13, 2016 at the Smithfield City Office, 96 South Main Street, Smithfield, Utah 84335 commencing at 6:30 p.m.
- **10.** The Trenton Town public hearing will be held on July 5, 2016 at the Trenton Town Hall, 17 East Main Street, Trenton, Utah 84338 commencing at 7:30 p.m.

The owners of private real property located within and registered voters residing within the proposed District may file signed written protests against the creation of the District with the Clerk or Recorder of a Municipality at the appropriate addresses stated above with the exception of North Logan City (North Logan City Office: 2076 North 1200 East, North Logan, Utah 84341) within sixty (60) days after July 14, 2016, which is the date of the last set of public hearings, as provided in Utah Code Ann. § 17B-1-213.